Home > AGW, Climate Change, Global Warming, Omniclimate, Policy, Science, Skepticism > AGW Belief Has Eaten My Newspaper!

AGW Belief Has Eaten My Newspaper!

(Letter sent to the International Herald Tribune)

> From: Maurizio Morabito
> To: letters@iht.com
> Cc: Subs@iht.com
> Sent: Thu, November 26, 2009 9:39:16 AM
> Subject: Missing pages in my IHT newspaper

Dear Editors

I wish to report a case of missing pages in the IHT I have received for the past couple of days.

Aa I am sure you know very well, the revelations about the ‘scientific’ practices at the Climate Research Unit at the University of East Anglia have been causing disconcert and not just among so-called skeptics.

The internal computing code notes about a futile multi-year quest to replicate their own results looks especially worthy of a good journalistic investigation. Could it really be true, that the multi-billion-dollar climate-change bandwagon might be based on computational practices that would have made Enron’s Ken Lay proud?

That’s why I am sure you have been dedicating many pages to the topic and I have just been unlucky as those pages were not included so far in my paper.

So please send them along. I know you have published a piece by NYT’s Andy Revkin a couple of days ago. That is the same Revkin that appears to be treated as a credulous media tool in a couple of the leaked emails, so forgive me if I skip his future contributions if any (as they will be the product either of personal anger or further credulosity).

Please do not betray the trust of this longtime subscriber. I really cannot believe the naysayers claiming you have been silent on this topic because afraid of the legal implications of those emails and other documents among the leaks.

Regards

Maurizio Morabito

  1. CO2 Realist
    2009/12/01 at 22:42

    Great letter. Did they publish it? Without edits? I wrote one to my local small town paper. 300 words got cut to 182 and lost much of the content. The next day a rant about health care and the cost of housing got 562 words. Go figure.

    Love your blog by the way, been a lurker for a while.

  2. papertiger
    2009/11/29 at 14:01

    Now this is beautiful.
    From Washington Uni, home of Eric (watch me make Antarctica melt) Steig, the Show Me the Data song.

    Show Me The Data!
    words and music by Greg Crowther

    Information all around —
    Some is bad, and some is sound.
    How can I decide which statements to accept?
    There’s a logical recourse:
    Locate each primary source,
    So conflicting sets of rumors can be checked.

    CHORUS:
    Show me the data.
    You’ve got to show me the data.
    If you don’t show me the data,
    Then how will I know?
    Show me the data.
    You’ve got to show me the data.
    If you don’t show me the data,
    Then how will I know?

    Is that candidate a jerk?
    Does this toothpaste really work?
    We must gather all the facts and then decide.
    If there’s truth in what you say,
    Let me see Exhibit A.
    Then my thirst for details will be satisfied.

    CHORUS

    If you don’t show me the data,
    Then how will I know?

  3. papertiger
    2009/11/29 at 10:32

    Maybe we can get Tom Cruise and Cuba Gooding Jr to reprise their roles.

    For the skeptic commercial.

  4. papertiger
    2009/11/29 at 10:27

    Rod Tidwell: Are you listenin’?
    Jerry Maguire: Yes!
    Rod Tidwell: That’s what I’m gonna do for you: God bless you, Jerry. But this is what you gonna do for me. You listenin’, Jerry?
    Jerry Maguire: Yeah, what, what, what can I do for you, Rod? You just tell me what can I do for you?
    Rod Tidwell: It’s a very personal, a very important thing. Hell, it’s a family motto. Are you ready, Jerry?
    Jerry Maguire: I’m ready.
    Rod Tidwell: I wanna make sure you’re ready, brother. Here it is: Show me the data. Oh-ho-ho! SHOW! ME! THE! DATA! A-ha-ha! Jerry, doesn’t it make you feel good just to say that! Say it with me one time, Jerry.
    Jerry Maguire: Show you the data.
    Rod Tidwell: Oh, no, no. You can do better than that, Jerry! I want you to say it with you, with meaning, brother! Hey, I got Bob Sugar on the other line; I bet you he can say it!
    Jerry Maguire: Yeah, yeah, no, no, no. Show you the data.
    Rod Tidwell: No! Not show you! Show me the data!
    Jerry Maguire: Show me the data!
    Rod Tidwell: Yeah! Louder!
    Jerry Maguire: Show me the data!
    Rod Tidwell: Yes, but, brother, you got to yell that shit!
    Jerry Maguire: Show me the data!
    Rod Tidwell: I need to feel you, Jerry!
    Jerry Maguire: Show me the data!
    Rod Tidwell: Jerry, you got to yell!
    Jerry Maguire: [screaming] Show me the data! Show me the data!
    Rod Tidwell: Do you love this black man!
    Jerry Maguire: I love the black man! Show me the data!
    Rod Tidwell: I love black people.
    Jerry Maguire: I love black people!
    Rod Tidwell: Who’s your motherfucker, Jerry?
    Jerry Maguire: You’re my motherfucker!
    Rod Tidwell: Whatcha gonna do, Jerry?
    Jerry Maguire: Show me the data!
    Rod Tidwell: Unh! Congratulations, you’re still my newspaper.

  5. bielie
    2009/11/28 at 11:31

    Not one mention is South African media, print or broadcast. I sent letters to two main media outlets and got no response.

    “If it’s not on CNN, its not news.”

  6. lucklucky
    2009/11/28 at 00:00

    Excelent. But will not move the Mainstream Media anything. Thye are in same ideological tank. This will colapse when people choose other media.

    I stopped paying for Media in 2003.

  7. 2009/11/27 at 13:06

    Well said. Very funny. The media’s silence is deafening. I guess it took Newsweek 30 years to retract its 1975 global cooling cover story, so we’ll hear from them in due course.

  8. 2009/11/27 at 12:56

    The print media seem to be largely ignoring the story, the broadcast media are downplaying it. What’s interesting is that where major newspapers have their online counterparts, the comments sections are receiving comment after comment referring in detail to the e-mails and files contained in FOI2009. This is basically a reversal of the traditional top-down idea of news reporting, where the news agencies decide what is newsworthy and what is not. Internet users are begging to differ – lots of us are deciding what we want to hear about, not what the news agencies think we should be told. A defining moment?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

